TripTik for Life, version 2.0

 

 Remember those great TripTiks from AAA? Oh, how I loved those things. Whenever we would drive from DC to Tennessee, I remember how excited I was to flip the page and watch the journey unfold before us, following the yellow highlighter as we made our way along the Interstate. I always thought it would be particularly romantic if we stopped and had a picnic on one of those grass covered highway medians.

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to have a TripTik for life?

 

Well, I may not be able to provide that, per se, but I can offer a Re-booting version.

TripTik for Life, version 2.0

 

First, you need to acknowledge that you want to get somewhere other than where you are now.

 

Second, you need to decide where you want to go. A wise man once advised me, “You don’t get in a taxi and tell the driver, ‘Well, I don’t want to go to the zoo.’ You need to know where you want to go!” Very true.

 

Deciding where you want to go may require you to ask yourself, “What are my strengths? What have I been genuinely interested in or enjoyed doing for a long time? What could I change about my life that would allow me to do more of this?” Don’t censor yourself! Include everything that pops out, no matter how ridiculous it may sound. It can be hard to answer some of these questions, but if you sit quietly for a bit or think about the question before you fall asleep, the main answer will show up.

 

Third, ask yourself what you could do each day, as small as that action might be, that would move you closer to the goal. I’m talking baby steps here, people; it doesn’t need to be anything big, just something that moves you one step closer.

 

Fourth, take that step. Repeat as necessary.

 

Flip the page of your TripTik and see where you are.

 

Re-boot 2.0 has thousands of satisfied customers. Those who ran out of gas or simply didn’t start weren’t truly interested in making the trip to begin with.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “TripTik for Life, version 2.0”

  1. musiesusie Says:

    I remember those Triptiks! We lived near a AAA office when I was growing up, and the kids in my neighborhood used to dumpster-dive after hours and get discarded Triptiks out of the trash.

    I love your steps for getting where you want to go in life. It makes so much sense to look at each step, each individual page of the Triptik, rather than overwhelming yourself by looking at the whole route.

    So glad to discover your blog via Patrick Ross. 🙂

  2. Sue Mitchell Says:

    I remember Triptiks! I loved those things. We lived near a AAA office when I was growing up, and the neighborhood kids used to dumpster-dive after hours and retrieve the discarded Triptiks from the trash.

    Great approach to making a life change. It makes so much sense to just worry about the next small step, the next page of the Triptik, rather than overwhelming yourself by looking at the whole journey.

    So glad to discover your blog via Patrick Ross! 🙂

    • dignitarysretreat Says:

      Thanks, Sue. Patrick’s blog is great, isn’t it? And your site resonates a lot with me, too. That creative muse can be quite persistent (sometimes even inconveniently so), can’t she? The TripTiks rock–I used one driving from Santa Barbara to DC about a year ago; the Triple A Lady told me that they remain their most popular membership benefit. Thanks for checking out Dignitary’s Retreat! Chrisanna

  3. grasshopper Says:

    This line sums it up for me: “You don’t get in a taxi and tell the driver, ‘Well, I don’t want to go to the zoo.’ You need to know where you want to go!”

    That is brilliantly true–and so obvious! Why is it that we don’t always see clearly in our life in the moment???

Leave a Reply

