More on Bad Mood Betty*

My most recent post dared to stick a toe into the murky world of assholism, using as a universal example Bad Mood Betty** and how to deal with her bad behavior. A primary goal for this blog is to compose posts that address issues with which we all must grapple. I also believe that turnaround is fair play; therefore, I categorically wish to point out that we all have a little Betty in us.

The objective, however, is to proceed through life trying to minimize the time Bad Mood Betty gets to surface from her dark and dirty hole. Like attracts like, so if part of our aim with re-booting is to minimize the number of assholes with whom we must contend on a regular basis, we also need to apply this standard to ourselves. In order to do so, we need to make the effort to recognize and isolate the part of ourselves that can dish out some hot, steaming apple brown Betty.

 

Now, no one likes to think of him or herself as an asshole, but even the sweetest amongst us has that potential lurking within. Someone cuts us off on the freeway, a customer service clerk has missed the point of their professional role, a close relative knows exactly what to say to get our goat, or our boss has no qualms about utilizing threats and double standards to get us to yield. Each of these examples involves exponentially more temptation to summon our inner Betty from her lair, and yet, there’s gotta be a better way. I know there is. It just requires more creativity and smarts to handle these instances without resorting to that same denominator.

 

Promoting a peaceful approach with the Bad Mood Bettys of this world does not mean giving in to their unpleasantness. Never confuse patience, tolerance, or kindness with being a wuss. I know that, sometimes, it can feel as if cooperating with assholes or yielding on certain matters is akin to backing down, but this isn’t generally true. When I think of the relative’s Dreaded Wife and her insistence on invading my space and using things that don’t belong to her, I try to remind myself that her rudeness simply isn’t important enough for me to become irritated and react. Remember, the Bettys of this world are itching for a fight.

 

Reacting to BMBs gets us fired up and only primes the pump for more spewing. Who needs that? Surely, there are better, more mature ways to deal with the matter at hand. Beware, that in the heat of the moment, this is when our own Betty demands to make her presence known—and it is she who we must acknowledge and manage. We need to prepare ourselves for how to handle her energy and zeal because she only makes matters worse.  Does what I’m saying make sense?

 

The worst kind, the unmitigated assholes of this world insist on a My Way Or The Highway approach—I’ve had the misfortune of longtime interactions with this breed—but the ordinary, run of the mill type asshole will usually back off on some of their obnoxiousness when dealt with appropriately. Take comfort from the fact that assholes generally get their comeuppance from Even Bigger Assholes.

 

In the meantime, I want you to spend a few quiet moments serving as your own proctologist. Under what circumstances are you most likely to serve up some apple brown Betty? Did doing so help resolve the problem? Were you proud of yourself afterwards? 

 

As part of your re-booting process, you may wish to consider cutting down on that portion. How might this best be achieved?

 

*While reading this, I recommend you listen to Elvis Presley’s Mean Woman Blues.

 

I got a woman,

Mean as she can be

I got a woman,

Mean as she can be

Sometimes I think

She’s almost mean as me

 

A black cat up and died of fright

‘Cause she crossed his path last night

Oh, I got a woman

Mean as she can be

Sometimes I think

She’s almost mean as me

 

The strangest gal I ever had

Never happy ‘less she’s mad

Oh, I got a woman

Mean as she can be

Sometimes I think

She’s almost mean as me

 

**Please note that my use of Bad Mood Betty is a gender equal condition. The Management.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “More on Bad Mood Betty*”

  1. Julianne Crispin Says:

    Rett, but I love you best in Bad Mood Betty mode!

Leave a Reply

