The Irresistible Lure of the Street

And…we’re back.

 

During these past few weeks, I’ve been travelling abroad, something I haven’t done in far too long, but it’s good to be home. Of course, with summer bearing down upon us, many will find reason to escape their quotidian lives and seek a cooler, temporary refuge elsewhere. For those of you who resist such lures, reasoning that there’s “too much to do here,” or who succumb to the siren call of remaining plugged into our 24/7 news cycle, etc. I urge you to reconsider. Getting away from it all not only allows one a blissful sense of utter ignorance but simultaneously renews our engagement with a heightened sense of wonder when we return.

 

Perhaps I prefer being oblivious more than most, but I found it a relief to have no sense of what was going on in the world while traipising about Paris and London. Regular DR readers will recall that I often waste energy worrying about global developments about which I know little and can do even less, so forcibly removing that burden from my shoulders was an unexpected positive of being tuned out. Now, when I read the daily papers, current events have a more normal sized reality about them, given my particular locus in this world. Many of the stories (particularly involving our own political system) seem even more inane after a few weeks away than ever before. My point: we mustn’t take ourselves so seriously no matter how serious the issue before us.

 

On a lovely June evening in the English countryside, I attended a dinner party. There was much to enjoy about the evening, but my biggest takeaway involved our hosts’ two terriers. One never tired of my throwing the tennis ball out onto their lawn (no doubt annoying the others since I lavished far more attention upon this pooch than my fellow guests) and the other, far senior dog who moved slowly, hovering quietly just beyond reach. My host genially shook his head as he clarified that the elder pet had been hit twice by cars driving along the street in front of his house. “Anytime that door stands open, he just can’t help himself,” he said, scratching the dog’s ears. “He runs out the door and insists on just standing in the middle of the road. I don’t know why he does it.”

 

Listening to this story, I smiled. “We’re all like your dog. There are doors for each of us that we simply can’t resist running through—no matter what it might cost us.” So, I ask you: my fellow DR readers, what is this door for you? What or who presents such a temptation in your life that you just can’t help yourself? Is it a vice? Is it a person from your past? Is it a potential you have yet been able to tap into? What siren calls to you?

 

It’s not that our poor English terrier didn’t pay a price for running through that door—two collisions with a car extracted a high physical toll, to be sure—but the dog is not the only foolish creature any of us knows. We all run through that metaphysical door. And, you know, when I think about it, I’d way rather it be this way than be too afraid to step out into the street. It’s what makes re-booters different from the rest of our fellow journeymen. We dare to feel that breeze on our face. We dare to chase that ball through a soft summer’s night.

 Image

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Irresistible Lure of the Street”

  1. Jim Patterson Says:

    Well done. I hope you had a great time.

  2. Julie Says:

    Lovely sentiment, Rett. Welcome home!

Leave a Reply

